Revise & extend: NOW, I would sign the “show me your papers” law…

Interesting 180 over the last few days by GOP guv candidate Scott Walker on the Arizona immigration law after a bunch of online pummeling by right-wingers when he was in danger of sounding reasonable last week.

For the record, here are the statements and the dates…

* * *

Associated Press – May 14, 2010 2:35 PM ET

MADISON, Wis. (AP) – A conservative Republican running for governor in Wisconsin is taking a tough public stance against Arizona’s sweeping new immigration law.

Milwaukee County Executive Scott Walker says in a statement that he has serious concerns about the Arizona law empowering police to question and arrest anyone they suspect is in the U.S. illegally.

His stance was the most definitive of any of the three major gubernatorial candidates, all of whom were asked by The Associated Press about the issue this week.

* * *

Sunday, May 16 statement from Scott Walker campaign:

“I sympathize with the people of Arizona who are victimized by violence, crime and property damage as a result of illegal immigration. After speaking with the sponsor of the new law in Arizona, State Senator Russell Pearce, I’m satisfied that the amended bill provides adequate protections against racial profiling and discrimination.  A police officer may only inquire about the immigration status of persons they have stopped, detained, or arrested for other reasons.

In addition, earlier decisions by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals satisfy my concern about any conflicts with the 10th Amendment. If I were Governor of Arizona, I too would sign the Arizona immigration bill.

As Governor of Wisconsin, I will sign legislation that strengthens our protection against illegal immigration and ensures that taxpayer funded benefits like Badger Care and drivers licenses are not available to those who are here illegally.”

* * *

Emily Litella: “Oh, that’s very different.  NEVER MIND!”

JR

FOR THE RECORD: Arizona State Sen. Russell Pearce ended up being recalled and removed from office:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/the-fix/post/arizona-recall-why-russell-pearce-lost/2011/11/09/gIQALj6a5M_blog.html

2 Responses to “Revise & extend: NOW, I would sign the “show me your papers” law…”

  1. short of a passport or certified copy of a birth certificate, how does one actually “prove” citizenship??

    was I born here, or was I born overseas?

    I am not confused for a german when I speak english, but I am also not confused for an american when I speak german

    how do I verify I belong? or… do I not have to verify because I don’t “fit the profile” of someone who is not a citizen?

    As a landlord, to avoid discrimination, I have to ask the same questions and perform the same underwriting to every applicant, I must use the same standards when making a rent/no-rent decision.

    Based on my knowledge of what I need to do to stay in compliance with fair housing laws, I would really appreciate it if someone could explain how AZ intends to be able to enforce this rule without asking for everyone to prove citizen AND without using racial profiling.

    One or the other….

  2. Can you just have an area on driver’s license that state if you are a citizen. When you go to get your driver’s license, you have to have a copy of your birth certificate, at least my kids did, so why not include it on that.

Leave a Reply

