Let’s get formal for a second here…

Dear colleagues and friends:

I am extremely pleased to have been appointed as Policy and Community Relations Director for the Office of Wisconsin Lieutenant Governor Barbara Lawton. While my new position is officially set to begin August 2, I will need to be down in Madison beginning July 19 for a period of orientation. This is an exciting opportunity and I’m looking forward to assisting the Lieutenant Governor as she pursues her agenda through the end of her term.

One of the impacts of accepting this appointment will be the necessity to leave my elected offices with the Wausau City Council and the Marathon County Board of Supervisors, together with many other local boards and committees on which I currently serve. Accordingly, I am resigning from these offices and positions with an effective date of July 24, 2010. I would be less than honest if I said this was a matter of no consequence to me. At the same time, I know that there are a lot of good people in my district and throughout the community who will be more than capable of stepping into these roles and having a positive impact.

It has been a tremendous honor and a source of great satisfaction to be involved in advancing the interests of our community since 1998 as a member of the city council and since 2002 as a member of the county board. I want to thank all that I have had the pleasure to be associated with during this time and especially the citizens of District 1, who gave me the opportunity to serve with their confidence and support.

JR

4 Responses to “Let’s get formal for a second here…”

  1. Good luck, dad! We’re all so proud of you, what you’ve done and what you have yet to accomplish.

  2. Aaron L. Says:

    Good luck Jim!

  3. Bob Holl Says:

    Dear Jim,
    Thank you for a job well done!
    We are probably complete opposites politically, but that does not take way the fact that I respect and admire you a lot.
    I wish you much success!

  4. Paul Henning Says:

    James,
    I must echo what Mr. Holl said. Although I find myself often on the opposite political side, you always make it easy to understand where you are coming from. Thanks, for all the time and effort you’ve contributed to the City of Wausau and Marathon County. You will fit right in with all the other liberals down in Madison.;-) Seriously…live well and prosper. Somehow, I know you will.
    Best regards, P.H.

Leave a Reply

